Photo: Melanie Scheller

Nuremberg Tech is led by the University Management, which is responsible for ensuring the control and development of the university.

The University Management comprises the President, Prof. Niels Oberbeck, the Vice Presidents for Academic Affairs and Professional Development, Research and Innovation, and Internationalization, as well as the Chancellor, Andrea Gerlach-Newman.

The University Management develops the strategy related to higher education policy, defines the guidelines, and sets the objectives on the basis of that strategy and those guidelines, together with the Extended Executive Board.

The President and the Chancellor are full-time members of the University Management. The Vice Presidents perform their duties on a part-time basis.

Information for the winter semester 2021/22 (in german)

Informationen zum Wintersemester 2021/22

Play video

Prof. Niels Oberbeck
Dear colleagues and students,
The summer semester 2021 is now practically over. All lectures have been held or heard, all exams have been written and corrected.
It was the third semester in which you had to demonstrate discipline; that required a lot of endurance and flexibility to improvise from you. I would like to express my gratitude for the respect you have shown over the past one-and-a-half years through your actions to protect your health and that of others. Slowly, we can feel the effects of the first easing of the restrictions from the pandemic, but of course, the coronavirus will continue to impact our daily lives.
We will keep the lessons we have learned from the past year and a half of online instruction. We will use them to tailor teaching and studying resources more flexibly.
At the same time, it is clear that online instruction is not a substitute for in-person classes on campus. We are a campus university; we thrive on encounters, we thrive on exchange, we thrive on discourse, here. This is why we are very pleased that presumably in the upcoming winter semester we will be able to return to more on campus instruction. We don’t yet have all of the details, but Vice President Christina Zitzmann will now tell you what we do know to date.

Prof. Christina Zitzmann
Dear students, dear faculty,
I am also pleased to speak to you. In the upcoming winter semester, on campus classes should be the norm at all universities in Bavaria. The State Government has decided that on campus instruction is possible at a 7-day-incidence under 100. This applies even if a minimum physical distance of 1.5 metres cannot be maintained at all times. It is still required to wear an FFP2 mask. All further information about these measures can be read in the 13th Infection Prevention Ordinance (“Infektionsschutzmaßnahmenverordnung”).
In this regard, it is critical to create a so-called 3G concept. That means, people who are vaccinated, tested, or recovered (3G = “geimpft, gestestet oder genesen”) are permitted to attend on campus activities. An ordinance to this end is currently being produced by our Ministry. We will communicate any more detailed information as it becomes available in a timely manner.
With regard to the curricula in the upcoming winter semester, we would like to ask all colleagues on faculty to keep their materials for required modules or courses available in digital formats, to be sure the content remains accessible. All further information about this will be available on our website in due time.

Prof. Niels Oberbeck
So that means: we look forward to being able to welcome you back on campus, personally, in winter semester. But until then, you are probably pleased to be facing a few weeks without university.
We hope you have restful and relaxing holidays and look forward to seeing you in October!

Welcome first-year students - Service units at Nuremberg Tech

Servicestellen der TH Nürnberg

Play video