The Erasmus programme

The Erasmus University programme, one of the European Union’s greatest success stories, has been promoting cross-border mobility of students, university lecturers, and university staff within Europe since 1987.
Erasmus is the European Union’s new programme for education, youth, and sport. Erasmus+ will combine the existing EU programmes for lifelong learning, youth and sport and the European universities cooperation programmes.
The programme encompasses three Key Actions:
Key Action 1 – Mobility of Individuals
Key Action 2 – Cooperation for Innovation and Exchange of Good Practices
Key Action 3 – Support for Policy Reform

Erasmus+ is equipped with a budget of around 14.8 billion euros. More than four million people will benefit from EU funding up to 2020. The seven-year programme is intended to improve skills and employability, and to drive the modernization of systems of general and professional education and the children’s and youth welfare services. Information about Erasmus+ can be found on the European Commission website:

The subsidies will mainly improve mobility in Europe, and are also expected to have that effect to a lesser extent in other parts of the world from 2015 onwards. By 2020, around two million students are expected to have benefited from Erasmus+, including 250,000 from Germany. The programme covers students in all study cycles up to and including PhD level who would like to complete part of their degree programme or an internship abroad. For the first time, it will provide funding for students at bachelor’s, master’s and PhD level for up to 12 months. In order to increase the financial incentive for students to stay abroad, the monthly mobility allowance for students will also be increased, particularly for host countries with higher living costs. It will also be possible in future to undertake internships abroad after graduation. Finally, Erasmus+ offers students who wish to complete an entire master’s degree within Europe the opportunity to take out a low-interest loan.

Erasmus also contributes towards the further internationalization of universities by funding short-term lectureships and professional training abroad for teaching and administrative staff.
Universities are able to invite company staff members  from abroad to teach, and now to also participate in multilateral strategic partnerships with other European partners (including outside of academia) and to develop innovative projects together.

The following mobility measures, among others,  have been funded by the Erasmus+ programme:

Study abroad for students
Internship abroad for students
Mobility for teaching purposes
Mobility for further and continued professional development purposes


The following  EU Member States participate  in Erasmus:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

Non-EU countries participating in the Erasmus programme
Iceland, Liechtenstein, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Turkey, and the United Kingdom.

General conditions of participation and funding
Higher education institutions that wish to participate in Erasmus activities must have an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE).   
The aim of the Charter is to guarantee the quality of the programme by means of certain basic principles.
The Erasmus University Charter (EUC) is awarded by the European Commission. It demonstrates that a university has fulfilled all conditions for successful participation in the Erasmus programme.

Special funding
Individuals  with  disabilities  may receive an allowance for additional costs incurred as part of a stay under the Erasmus programme. This applies to all Erasmus mobility lines (studying, internship, mobility for teaching purposes, and mobility for further and continued professional development purposes).
Further information regarding “Mobility in other countries for disabled persons” is available on the web pages of the DAAD and in the International Office.

Erasmus – student mobility
The core of the Erasmus programme – degree-related study abroad – makes it possible for students to undertake an Erasmus study period abroad and/or  Erasmus internship in any participating country for up to 12 months.

Liability clause
This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. Responsibility for the contents of this publication rests solely with the author; the Commission accepts no liability for the further use of the information contained therein.

Additional information and advice concerning the Erasmus mobility measures can also be obtained from the

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
National Agency for EU Higher Education Cooperation
Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn
Tel: +49(0)228/882-8877
Fax: +49(0)228/882-555
Email: erasmusatdaadPunktde